Cover of the Week – 10.23.08

Cover of the Week is my presentation of the best cover from last week’s comic book releases, based on the art, design, and overall good looks.

I’m a big fan of minimalism. You know, less clutter and more emphasis on design. So this week’s covers features non-cramped covers with minimalist design. And boy do I like ’em! And the fairest of them all is none other than Darkseid!

Final Crisis #4 (cover by J.G. Jones)

He’s the King of the Week! The Master of Evil! The Anti-Life Equator! (Equator?) Anyways, J.G. Jones makes pretty awesome art, from interiors to covers to interiors back. Like I’ve said, it’s nothing grand, just a simple figure of Darkseid occupying the page, but it delivers the feel of his presence and how big his role is in the book. For that, I give you this week’s medal! And a candy bar.

Honorable mentions: Punisher #63 (Dave Johnson) & DMZ #35 (JP Leon)

Panel of the Week: New Avengers #46 (last panel/page, art by Billy Tan)

Pretty awesome, yeah?

POST A COMMENT

2 thoughts on “Cover of the Week – 10.23.08

  1. Hey, I like the pretty burning demon coming out of the mirror. It reminds me of that New Year’s day where I burned my cheek with sparkly things.

    Ah. The touch of fire…

Leave a Reply

