Cover of the Week – 10.30.08

Cover of the Week is my presentation of the best cover from last week’s comic book releases, based on the art, design, and overall good looks.

I finally got my internet back! Just in time for my weekly feature!

So last week, there were pretty good books released, yeah? But, the icing on my cake will be (obviously) HELLBOY! Why? It’s Mike Mignola, and it’s my feature post, so you and your lot can jump off a cliff for all I care.

Hellboy: In the Chapel of Moloch (one-shot) Story & art by Mike Mignola

hb

Sure, it might not the brightest and prettiest among the group, but you can’t deny Mignola’s genius (and I’m a bit bias because I’m a big fan). I guess this issue is half-inspired by Francisco Goya. If you don’t know who Goya is, he’s a spanish painter who’s considered to be the “Father of Modern Art”, and some of the drawings in this issue were based off his work, notably the “Black Paintings” and “The Disasters of War” series. Who else can incorporate traditional paintings to comic-art while retaining their old rustic gothic feel? Mike’s that man.

Runner up!

Joker HC (art by Lee Bermejo)

jocker

Lee Bermejo is one of the artists that I like, since he can blend gritty dark shadowy art, with realistic fluid details on his page. Unlike other artists who rely on blacks a lot, he can balance them very well from facial shadows to background shadows to reflections from car windows. Also, I like how this cover gives you the creeps. It’s a shot of Joker’s tradmark grin, and it gives off a weird feeling of insanity and mystery behind it. Good show, I must say.

That’s it for this week kids, until next time!

POST A COMMENT

Leave a Reply

