Cover of the Week – 12.11.08

Cover of the Week is my presentation of the best cover from last week’s comic book releases, based on the art, design, and overall good looks.

Wow, how time flies by so fast. I didn’t notice that it’s that time of the week again! Today, I shall present the cover that catched my attention. The prettiest girl in the playground, the shiniest among the silvers, the queuerest of the queer, the strangest of the strange, the cover of the week by Mr. We’re waiting for Planetary #27, John Cassaday!

Solomon Kane #3 (covers by John Cassaday)

solomon kane

Well, well, well, John Cassaday. We haven’t seen anything new from him for some time now. The last one I read was his Astonishing Run, and I think he’s been doin covers here and there. But who’s to complain? His art is great, and what really attracts me to it is how he does shadows. It has that inked brush / charcoal stroke feel that gives a level of realism to his drawings. Specially how he uses them for shadows. As for this cover, what attracted me was the simplicity of the design, with Kane holding his guns, crossed, and that thing in the middle complimenting the simple shapes of the background with it’s details and small texture shadows. Good example of contrasting to focust attention on a page. Now, I shall go back and continue waiting for Planetary #27.

Panel of the Week – Invincible #56 (by Ryan Ottley)

 

that's what they all say, miss.
that's what they all say, miss.

Ok, that’s it for me! See you in a few days for some more comics goodness!

Leave a Reply

