Cover of the Week – 01.08.09

Cover of the Week is my presentation of the best cover from last week’s comic book releases, based on the art, design, and overall good looks.

Wow,  there were a lot of cool covers last week! I though I wouldn’t be able to choose in time, but I prevailed! With the help of my experience dealing with these things, choosing a sole winner among a group of winners was as easy as solving the differential area on a slope as x reaches infinity!  So this week, I’m proud to present another artist from our islands, he worked on Moon Knight and now he’s tasked to draw Marvel’s huggable werewolf!  I humbly present Mico Suayan!

Dead of Night – Werewolf  by Night #1 by Mico Suayan

What big teeth you have
What big teeth you have

Well hi-dee-ho, it’s the big bad wolf! I first encountered Mico Suayan’s art in Moon Knight, and I have to say although he does have pretty lines, I wasn’t a big fan of his art back then. Is it just me or do Filipino artists share similarities with how they “hatch”? But anyways, I noticed a big jump from his art on MK to this one, I actually liked his art on this book! I dunno if there’s any difference, but for me there is.

So let’s go to the cover. Actually, I had a hard time picking which cover to use. There’s Hellboy (I’m gay for Mignola), Rest has a good cover too, Scalped has that cool-ass gun, NYX had pretty girls,  X-Men Noir’s variant cover, and Sub-Mariner – The Depths was also awesome.  But I chose this one because of the difference in Mico Suayan’s art which kind of “attracted” me.  I dunno, but I think his style in Moon Knight was too messy, and sometimes (or most of the time) they were over-hatched. I dunno if we can call that hatching, but I noticed most Filipino artists who work for the big publishers tend to hatch and add those rendering lines to their art.  It’s not bad, it adds contour and some texture to it, and it’s actually pretty good.  But sometimes its too much it looks ridiculous.  It could be the coloring too because I really liked the coloring in this cover. It’s not that dark, and the blood’s not that bright or dark either. It sorta blends with the skin and the whole dark/shadowy feel, but it’s really the bloodied mouth that got me.  And he represents Filipino Pride too! Great job Mr. Suayan, sir!

So that ends my part, and I hope to see you all next time!

Leave a Reply

