Cover of the Week – 11.20.08

Cover of the Week is my presentation of the best cover from last week’s comic book releases, based on the art, design, and overall good looks.

Hello again girls and boys, I’m back with my weekly thing of showing you the best among the best of the covers of comic books released last week. This time, my favorite is by the artist of another of my favorite books, Powers! Yes! The one and only, the Thor Killah!

Mice Templar #6 (Michael Avon Oeming)

mice

Isn’t it pretty? HELLS YEAH IT’S PRETTY! I’m a big fan of Oeming’s work on Powers, it’s dark and gritty, and it’s not that messy compared to other dark and gritty styles. But on this book, he’s brought his art to a higher level! It’s darker and it feels more Mignolaesque. I guess it has to do with the characters being non-humans and he uses a lot of nature elements in the book accompanied by a shadows that give off a very epic fantasy warrior saga feel to it.

Runner-up: Thunderbolts #126 (Francesco “Matt” Mattina)

tbolts

This was supposed to be this weeks winner, but I like Mice Templar’s cover more. But this one’s pretty sweet!

So, do you have your own picks for last week?

POST A COMMENT

Leave a comment